Creation of One China Committee declared at the press conference

A luncheon press conference of The One China Committee was held on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at 1:00 p.m. at Lee Wing Wah Restaurant, Chicago. At the press conference, the formation of the Committee was declared. The Committee supports one China, Taiwan an integral part of China, and peaceful settlement of differences for eventual unification. The Committee will work closely with similar organizations around the world to advocate one China. Ten founding members attended the press conference. They are: William Brace, Fushi Cai, Larry Horist, Kevin Hopkins, Alexander Hugh, James Hsiung, Tze-chung Li, Glenn Ma, Lee-hsia Ting, and Michael Travis. James Hsiung came from New York and Lee-hsia Ting took a four-hour train to participate in the event. Guests include Huiyun Bao, Pam Brace, P. M. Chang, Irene Chao, Daway Zhou, Michael Lu, Sharon Travis, and Zhou Zhang. All Chinese newspapers sent their reporters to attend.

By co-incidence, a State Department press statement by Adam Ereli, Deputy Spokesman, released on October 18 supports one China. It states "we will continue to adhere to our one-China policy. We will insist on a peaceful resolution of differences between Taiwan and the PRC. We support constructive dialogue between the two sides as the best means to bring about, on a mutually acceptable basis, a lasting peace in this important region."

Back to News